

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 j.roney@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Extension, Manchester M60 2LA

Tuesday, 9 May 2023

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Meeting of the Council - Wednesday, 17th May, 2023

You are summoned to attend a meeting of the Council which will be held at 10.00 am on Wednesday, 17th May, 2023, in The Council Chamber, Level 2, Town Hall Extension.

1. The Lord Mayor's Announcements and Special Business

2. Election of the Lord Mayor of Manchester

To elect the Lord Mayor of Manchester for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

3. Vote of Thanks

To adopt a resolution of thanks for the retiring Lord Mayor.

4. Appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor

To appoint a Deputy Lord Mayor for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

5. Minutes 7 - 24

To submit for approval the minutes of the meeting held on 29 March 2023.

6. Interests

To allow members an opportunity to declare any personal, prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they might have in any items which appear on this agenda; and record any items from which they are precluded from voting as a result of Council Tax or Council rent arrears. Members with a personal interest should declare that at the start of the item under consideration. If members also have a prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they must withdraw from the meeting during the consideration of the item.

7. Seniority of Councillors

The statement of the City Solicitor concerning the seniority of councillors is to follow.

8. Leader of the Council

To elect the Leader of the Council.

9. Scrutiny Committee remits

The report of the City Solicitor is to follow.

10. Appointment of Council Committees and Chairs

To approve the appointment of Members of the following –

Art Galleries Committee

Audit Committee

Employee Appeals Committee

Executive Standing Consultative Panel

Health and Wellbeing Board

Housing Advisory Committee

Licensing Committee

Licensing and Appeals Committee

Licensing Policy

Committee Personnel Committee

Planning and Highways Committee

Standards Committee (incl the Nominated Spokesperson)

Scrutiny Committees:-

Children and Young People

Communities and Equalities

Environment and Climate Change Economy

Health Resources and Governance

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 17 May 2023 – circulated in advance of the meeting).

11. Appointments to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees

To approve appointment of representatives to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 17 May 2023 – circulated in advance of the meeting).

12. Dates of Council meetings

To agree the dates of ordinary meetings of the Council in 2023/24:

Wednesday 12 July 2023 Wednesday 31 January 2024 Wednesday 4 October 2023 Friday 1 March 2024 (Budget) Wednesday 29 November 2023 Wednesday 27 March 2024

and that the Annual Meeting of the Council 2024 will be on Wednesday 15 May 2024.

Yours faithfully,

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Six individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors:-

Ludford (Chair), Y Dar (Deputy Chair), Abdullatif, Akbar, Azra Ali, Ahmed Ali, Nasrin Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Amin, Andrews, Appleby, Baker-Smith, Bano, Bayunu, Bell, Benham, Brickell, Bridges, Butt, Chambers, Chohan, Collins, Connolly, Cooley, Craig, Curley, Davies, Doswell, Douglas, Evans, Flanagan, Fletcher, Foley, Gartside, Good, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hilal, Hitchen, Holt, Hughes, Hussain, Igbon, Ilyas, Iqbal, Johns, Johnson, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kilpatrick, Kirkpatrick, Lanchbury, Leech, J Lovecy, Lynch, Lyons, McCaul, McHale, Midgley, Moran, Muse, Noor, Northwood, Nunney, Ogunbambo, H Priest, Rahman, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Riasat, Richards, I Robinson, T Robinson, Rowles, Sadler, M Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, Simcock, Stogia, Taylor, Wheeler, Anastasia, Whiston, White, Wills, Wilson and Wright

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Hugh Barrett, Andrew Fender, Audrey Jones JP, Paul Murphy OBE, Nilofar Siddiqi and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the meeting Clerk:

Andrew Woods Tel: 0161 234 3011

Email: andrew.woods@manchester.gov.uk

This agenda was issued on **Tuesday, 9 May 2023** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Level 2, Town Hall Extension (Library Walk Elevation), Manchester M60 2LA